• Tank Battalion & Roma Dune

Elegy of the Machine (split)

  • CASSETTE Out of stock

Umor Rex
UR051 - 2012

Pro-dubbed cassette with white shells and 4 panel J-card. Limited Edition of 100 copies with download code.

One of the first releases on Umor Rex (six years ago) was the self-titled Tank Battalion Attack EP. This Tulsa, Oklahoma band was formed by Ryan Swafford, Aaron Nigh Herndon, and Daniel Grout. We have decided to re-release this album on cassette; side A will include the five original tracks— industrial- apocalyptic rumblings, homemade musical deconstructions, sparse, pummeling, oddly captivating stuff with just the right tinge of subtle melancholy. We loved this back then, we love it still. On the B side you will find 6 new tracks by Roma Dune, Aaron Nigh Herndon’s personal project, and which he has been working on ever since the dissolution of Tank Battalion Attack. Roma Dune shares some of the concrete, punch to the gut feel of Tank Battalion Attack, with repetition and controlled dissonance as key elements… yet Roma Dune seems to aim for a larger sound vocabulary. Tank Battalion Attack flirted somehow with ambient and krautrock, but Roma Dune goes for a more narrative/cinematic kind of shape.


  • 1 Tank Battalion Attack – Mute Movement
  • 2 Tank Battalion Attack – Rumor Movement
  • 3 Tank Battalion Attack – Apostate Movement
  • 4 Tank Battalion Attack – Cadense Movement
  • 5 Tank Battalion Attack – Complex Pause Movement
  • 6 Roma Dune – Pillar
  • 7 Roma Dune – Tin
  • 8 Roma Dune – Chrsh
  • 9 Roma Dune – Grendel
  • 10 Roma Dune – Mrgrt
  • 11 Roma Dune – Bster