• Mutilation Rites


  • 180gram LP Out of stock

Gilead Media
RELIC41 - 2012

Packaged in an old-style Stoughton tip-on jacket, single pocket. Black inner sleeves. 180g black vinyl. Artwork by Reuben Sawyer (Rainbath Visual). CD released by Prosthetic Records.

In three short years Brooklyn's Mutilation Rites went from releasing a couple demos and EPs to unleashing Empyrean, one of the most gruesomely ferocious full length black metal LPs of the year.

The songs on Empyrean are astonishingly identifiable, they get stuck in your head immediately. This may be in large part due to the way Mutilation Rites utilize so many other elements of metal without losing focus of their goal. The backbone here is undoubtably black metal, but within you can hear aspects of grind, doom, crust, and captivating riffage that mesh perfectly and serve a greater dark purpose. As the shrieking, indistinguishable vocals lay over these songs it pulls the sound together into a perfect blend of filthy, precise misery.


  • 1 A Season Of Grey Rain
  • 2 Realms Of Dementia
  • 3 Ancient Blood Oath
  • 4 Fogwarning
  • 5 Dead Years
  • 6 Broken Axis