• Tape


  • LP Out of stock

Immune 004 - 2009

2nd Pressing of 500 copies now available!

Luminarium is pressed on high quality virgin vinyl at RTI and includes a free digital download coupon.

“Dreaming the same dreams, not knowing of each other. Invoking old times at new places, side by side, not knowing of each other. Longing for yearning; light of dawn and midday sun. A world which lets itself be sensed, not known; the first light of your rosy-fingered youth; birches and concrete, touch and go.

The new album by Swedish group Tape is a luminarium of sound where past and present merge at the speed of light.”

Swedish trio Tape was set up in 2000 by brothers Andreas and Johan Berthling with Tomas Hallonsten. Taking cues both from pop, experimentalism, and minimalism their sound has become recognized internationally and is clearly something of its own. Their first album Opera was released on the Häpna imprint (which Johan is a co-owner of) in 2002. Working intuitive, all by themselves, they created mini symphonies out of electronic sounds paired with a stunning melodic lyricism. With an array of electronic and acoustic instruments at hand they recorded at a small stone barn on the island of Öland, east of Sweden. 2003 saw the release of Milieu, recorded at the very same barn. These recordings had a more arranged feeling and a clear pop sensibility in some parts. In 2005 they went to Cologne to have Marcus Schmickler produce and record their third album Rideau. This was done in his Piethopraxis studio in Cologne and his involvement left traces; an almost architectonical approach was taken and some of the intimacy that characterized the first two albums were replaced by a harder edge.

In 2006 they collaborated with Japanese duo Tenniscoats on their album Tan–Tan Therapy. The same year they recorded in Tokyo with Japanese quartet Minamo, which resulted in the record Birds of a feather. In the years, their touring has taken them to places like Japan, Taiwan, USA and most parts of Europe.

Luminarium is Tape’s fourth album and it was recorded in their Summa studio in Stockholm. The album was released on CD by Häpna in 2008. Immune is proud to release the album on vinyl for the first time. Tape is currently in the studio recording a follow-up album for release later this year.

“Tape organically blend balsa-light acoustic textures (guitars, percussion, winds and brass) with a range of organs and a gentle yet firm digital pressure.” - WIRE

“The only really useful comparisons to make would be to other Tape albums, and Luminarum finds this unique Swedish troupe at least equalling, if not bettering the genre-defying work they’ve made their name with. Amazing stuff.” - Boomkat

“Hearing a new Tape record feels like coming home. Their warm blend of acoustic instrumentation (piano, guitar, harmonium, etc.) and electronics never dissapoints.” - Foxy Digitalis


  • 1 Beams
  • 2 Moth Wings
  • 3 Fingers
  • 4 Reperto
  • 5 Mystery Mutiny
  • 6 Dripstone
  • 7 Altamira
  • 8 Parade
  • 9 Illuminations
  • 10 Beams Out