• Death Vessel

Stay Close

  • LP Out of stock

immune 001 - 2007

This first pressing is limited to 500 copies on black vinyl.

Death Vessel is Joel Thibodeau’s work as both a solo artist and band leader. His music, captured on the resplendent record Stay Close, is an eloquent distillation of a life’s tales. Born in Berlin, Germany before The Wall fell... raised in Kennebunkport, Maine before senior Bush’s presidency... this musician lived a childhood where the ghosts of Cold War casualties and seaport tragedies haunted the alleyways and beaches. Leaving Maine as a teenager, Thibodeau moved to Boston, Providence and New York. In Providence he was a founding member, songwriter and performer of the group String Builder. Now as then, Thibodeau captures the surreal and the sublime in wondrous song.

Thibodeau’s vocal delivery is astonishing. Perhaps his singing is best-described as descendent from “the high lonesome sound” - unleashed upon the world by Roscoe Holcomb in the early 1960’s. With this voice, Death Vessel delivers stunning lyrical poetry that transcends the “whisky ‘n’ haystack” imagery of its neo-folk contemporaries. Thibodeau brings this same unusual experimentation to the acoustic guitar (his primary instrument). The daringly melodic plucking of strings and the odd tempo changes provide expertly unexpected accompaniment.

To watch Death vessel perform live is to watch an audience under a spell. This applies whether it\'s just Thibodeau alone with an acoustic guitar or with an expanded lineup that often includes regular contributors to Death Vessel Pete Donnelly (The Figgs) and Erik Carlson (Area C).

Stay Close was originally released on CD in 2005 by North East Indie. New Chicago imprint Immune is proud to present the album on the LP format for the first time. This version of the album contains a bonus track exclusive to this release - a live/acoustic version of \"Deep In The Horchata\" recorded in 2005 with Micah Blue Smaldone playing accompaniment.

Having just wrapped up a full European tour with Low and playing at this year\'s Sundance Festival, 2007 continues to look like an incredible year for Death Vessel. The final touches are being placed on his follow up to Stay Close and will be released by Sub Pop.


  • 1 Mean Streak
  • 2 Late In Life Lift
  • 3 Blowing Cave
  • 4 Break The Empress Crown
  • 5 Nothing Left To Bury
  • 6 Mandan Dink
  • 7 Tidy Nervous Breakdown
  • 8 Snow Don't Fall
  • 9 Deep In The Horchata
  • 10 White Mole
  • 11 Deep In The Horchata (Live/Acoustic)