• Arkhamin Kirjasto

Torches Ablaze

Ektro / Full Contact
ektro-080 - 2012

Arkhamin Kirjasto was born in 2010, when Jussi Lehtisalo and Samae Koskinen started making music together. Their aim was to combine different aspects of metal, the music they both loved. Would the guttural power of Autopsy and Nihilist work well with the sheer melodiousness of early Iron Maiden and Angel Witch? Arkhamin Kirjasto's debut album, Torches Ablaze, is the answer to that question.

This versatile record opens with "The Cult of No Return," a startling riff that pays homage to Judas Priest. "Sea of Madness" takes an ethereal trip to the realms of psychedelia while "The Bitch From Hell" pairs pure glam with death-metal vocals. The undead hissing of "Thousand Snakes" and the majestic guitar noise of "Speed, Yog Sothoth" then proceed to turn the metal blueprint inside out.

Lyrically speaking, Arkhamim Kirjasto deals mainly with the green-tinted cosmic horror of Lovecraftian mythology. Koskinen is a well-known Finnish solo artist who plays guitar in the live lineup of Xysma. When he's not managing his label, Ektro Records, Lehtisalo plays in Circle and Pharaoh Overlord, among others. The pair previously worked together in Aaron Turner's Split Cranium project.

"One of the more intriguing things to have landed in my inbox recently is Finland's Arkhamin Kirjasto. It might be because music writers are anxious to drop a label on something and it's damn near impossible to classify. Is it power metal? Hard rock? Or, as the band says on their Facebook page, 'Lovecraftian Hard Rock/Death Metal'? That sorta has all the bases covered, even if Lovecraft liked classical...makes us want to get down the same way Now, Diabolical did when SATYRICON decided to surprise (and potentially alienate) their entire fanbase about six years ago. So if you don't like big riffs and hooks, it might not be for you. Like arena rock meeting something heavier? Give it a taste and flick the Bic" - Decibel


  • 1 The Cult Of No Return
  • 2 Knights Of Torment
  • 3 Sleeping Beauty
  • 4 Sea Of Madness
  • 5 Speed, Yog Sothoth
  • 6 Bitch From Hell
  • 7 Thousand Snakes
  • 8 Golem Made Of Flesh
  • 9 Synthetic Death
  • 10 When The Light Is Dead And Gone