The Body & OAA


Alone, The Body are heavyweights in the world of heavy music, but they’ve never let that fact make them shy away from collaborations. Enemy of Love, created with OAA, follows in that long line of incredible collaborations, with bands including ThouUniformFull of Hell, and most recently, BIG|BRAVE. Like many of their past projects, this rides a line between pushing the boundaries, and moments where the unmistakable voice of The Body, honed over their 2 decades as a duo, comes through clearly. They’ve built up a dedicated fan base through prolific releases, collaborations, constant touring, and unparalleled merch.

In keeping with their penchant for veering in new directions, The Body’s work with producer OAA (aka AJ Wilson) doubles down on the duo’s sonic excavations at the nexus of electronic, noise, and heavy music. Together, their percussive onslaught churns beneath a single mass of impossible magnitude that lurches and stutters as its gears grind in perpetual struggle. The Body drummer Lee Buford’s signature obliterated volleys set a steady pace which Wilson bolsters with a multitude of rhythmic clicks, thuds and synthesizer squeals. Guitarist and vocalist Chip King pours a cornucopia of volcanic noise-laden textures atop the throb, driving each piece to the absolute brink. Wilson adeptly straddles the line between Buford and King, creating a provocative syncopating interplay as well as employing abrasive samples and synth that entirely blur the boundaries of King’s guitar and howl. The combination of the three is equal parts harrowing and intoxicating.




    Enemy of Love

  • 1 Devalued
  • 2 Pseudocyesis
  • 3 Hired Regard
  • 4 Fortified Tower
  • 5 Obsessed Luxury
  • 6 Conspiracy Privilege
  • 7 Barren of Joy
  • 8 Miserable Freedom
  • 9 Ignorant Messiah
  • 10 Docile Gift
  • Tracks