222 1600

Armonico Hewa

Thrill Jockey
thrill 222 - 2009

For UK and EU orders, purchase from Anost.net

CD version comes packaged in an Ultra-Deluxe six panel old-style tip-on mini-LP style gatefold package. Custom made by the printer for this release!

Thrill Jockey is pleased to announce the arrival of Armonico Hewa, OOIOO’s sixth full-length album and first record in over three years! Armonico Hewa continues the rapturous and frenetic celebration of nature that coursed through the veins of their 2006 album TAIGA. Where as TAIGA meant “forest” in Russian and “big river” in Japanese, Armonico Hewa is a combination of words (“armonico” is Spanish and “hewa” is Swahili) that is defined by the band as “air in a harmonious state”. Like the cross-cultural title, Armonico Hewa is a mind-melting combination of stylistic reference points that can only be described as some kind of tribal psychedelia that is oddly spiritual and alarmingly urgent.

OOIOO leader Yoshimi began her music career in 1986 playing drums in UFO or Die with Eye and later joined him in the revolutionary noise-pop experimentalist Boredoms. While the group has featured different musicians in the past, the same all-female four-piece who created TAIGA is once again the driving force behind Armonico Hewa. Longtime OOIOO guitarist Kayan, bassist Aya and drummer Ai join Yoshimi to create one of the most enthralling, adventurous and unique bands in modern music.



  • 1 SOL
  • 2 Uda Hah
  • 3 Irorun
  • 4 Konjo
  • 5 Ulda
  • 6 Polacca
  • 7 Kipepeo
  • 8 O O I A H
  • 9 Nin Na Yama
  • 10 Hewa Hewa
  • 11 Agacim
  • 12 Orokai
  • 13 Honki Ponki

Related Albums