559 1600
559 uv detail 3
559 inside closeup square
559 inside
559 back closeup

City Of Echoes

  • Limited Color 2xLP Out of stock

  • limited Color 2x LP Out of stock

  • MP3 / $9.00 Add to Cart
  • 2xLP Out of stock

Thrill Jockey
Thrill-559 - 2021

UK/EU customers please order through our partners anost.net

City Of Echoes is available in a limited quantity of Trans Blue 2xLPs - Click Here To Watch the Unboxing!

City of Echoes, originally released in 2007 by Hydra Head Records, marked a paradigm shift for Pelican. Coming off the heels of the glacial Australasia and their even more expansive and acclaimed follow-up The Fire In Our Throats Will Beckon The Thaw, their third album is a study in precision. Inspired by their non-stop tour schedule following The Fire’s release, the quartet composed City of Echoes to be a lean powerhouse of non-stop melodic hooks and lurching rhythms that reflected the energy of live performance.

15 years after the album’s release, Pelican and Thrill Jockey are proud to present City of Echoes in a deluxe 2xLP edition newly remastered by Josh Bonati and featuring a full LP-worth of bonus material, including original album demos, alternate takes, and pieces originally only available on the rare Pink Mammoth EP.

With City of Echoes, Pelican defied expectations and set themselves apart from the single-minded thrum of retreading old ground. The more concise pieces trade breadth and rumination for a distinct clarity and a razor’s edge for hook-driven songcraft. Guitarists Trevor Shelley de Brauw and Laurent Schroeder-Lebec trade crisp riffs that twirl in opposition before thundering together in monoliths. The sheer amount of potent interplay between the two, often borrowing from disparate edges of rock and metal at a whim before completely transforming, is mind-boggling. Bassist Bryan Herweg and rhythm section compatriot/drummer/brother Larry Herweg lock into a wider array of grooves than ever before. Their considered bedrock guide the band’s dynamics into some of the ensemble’s most tender moments as well as their most ferocious. City of Echoes stands as a testament to Pelican’s ability to reconfigure the grandeur and force of their sound without ever repeating themselves.

Pelican - City of Echoes 2xLP reissue tracklist
A1. Bliss in Concrete
A2. City of Echoes
A3. Spaceship Broken - Parts Needed
A4. Winds With Hands
B1. Dead Between the Walls
B2. Lost in the Headlights
B3. Far From Fields
B4. A Delicate Sense of Balance
Bonus LP:
C1. Pink Mammoth
C2. City of Echoes (Bear Creek demo)
C3. Bliss in Concrete (October 2006 demo)
D1. Lost in the Headlights (October 2006 demo)
D2. Winds With Limbs
D3. End of Seasons (Prefuse73 remix)



  • 1 Bliss in Concrete
  • 2 City of Echoes
  • 3 Spaceship Broken - Parts Needed
  • 4 Winds With Hands
  • 5 Dead Between the Walls
  • 6 Lost in the Headlights
  • 7 Far From Fields
  • 8 A Delicate Sense of Balance
  • 9 Pink Mammoth
  • 10 City of Echoes (Bear Creek demo)
  • 11 Bliss in Concrete (October 2006 demo)
  • 12 Lost in the Headlights (October 2006 demo)
  • 13 Winds With Limbs
  • 14 End of Seasons (Prefuse73 remix)