E complications jacket


  • LP Out of stock

Silver Rocket
ECC-001 - 2020

Pre-Order for April 21st, 2020

E, the Boston based trio of Gavin McCarthy, Jason Sidney Sanford, and Thalia Zedek release their 3rd full-length album, Complications  on the Silver Rocket/Lokal Rekorc label. Recorded by Andy Hong (Kimchee Records) and mixed by Seth Manchester (Lightning Bolt, Battles, The Body) at Machines with Magnets, the new album continues E’s exploration of sound and instrumentation begun in their self-titled 2016 debut and 2018’s Negative Work.

Though McCarthy, Sanford and Zedek all have strong and well developed individual musical personalities, E has been a highly collaborative endeavor since inception. This record involves even more melding than the previous ones, with all 3 members sharing lead vocal and lyrical duties equally.

Sanford, long known for designing the unique instruments used in his band Neptune, debuts yet another guitar and an assortment of new inventions for the 9 songs on “Complications.”  A favorite is the electronic “monosequencer,” a machine triggered by stomping which plays a short sequence of bass notes. The requirement that the sequence be re-triggered each time keeps the role of the body present in the choice to employ technology while retaining a human touch.

Fueled by drummer Gavin McCarthy’s explosive precision and the subsonic depth charges of Sanford’s various devices, “Complications” is at once jarring and danceable. Thalia Zedek’s melodic guitar lines and vocals weave in and around Sanford’s and McCarthy’s parts, adding both shading and warmth to the sound (though Zedek also deploys bursts of extreme noise at times.)

The subject matter of the songs deals with life in present times, in many cases through the medicalization of modern experience. E explores new meanings of disease, virus and infection in today’s world ("Contagion Model", "Acid Mantle", "Miasma") as well as expressing hope for the future and self healing. ("Sunrise", "Apiaries Near Me", "Like a Leaf").


  • 1 Caught
  • 2 Acid Mantle
  • 3 Contagion Model
  • 4 Sunrise
  • 5 Miasma
  • 6 Dead Drop
  • 7 Gelding
  • 8 Like a Leaf
  • 9 Apiaries Near Me

Related Albums