033 1500

Directions In Music

  • CD Out of stock
  • MP3 / $10.00 Add to Cart
  • LP Out of stock

Thrill Jockey
thrill 033 - 1996

The 1996 self-titled album from Directions features the trio of Bundy K. Brown (Tortoise, Pullman, Gastr Del Sol, Bastro), Doug Scharin (Codeine, Rex, June of 44), and James Warden.

This 2012 vinyl re-issue is pressed on high quality virgin vinyl and includes a free download coupon for the first time.

Also, be sure to check out Bundy K. Brown's Gray Market Goods 12" available in our distro section.

The album consists of eight instrumental songs recorded in the Spring of 1996 at Idful music in Chicago. Although the sessions were largely engineered by Bundy Brown, all the members of the group took part in the recording process at a variety of levels. Likewise, the songs were composed in the studio, or significantly realized through the recording process. Bundy, James, and Doug began the recording with several musical elements as the "root" of the songs. The "roots " were then taken and collectively developed into the versions presented on the record. The development was a natural result of the group's improvisation stemming from their exploration of texture, rhythm, color, and harmonic interplay.




  • 1 (Untitled)1
  • 2 (Untitled)2
  • 3 (Untitled)3
  • 4 (Untitled)4
  • 5 (Untitled)5
  • 6 (Untitled)6
  • 7 (Untitled)7
  • 8 (Untitled)8

Related Albums