359 cd2 front 400
359 cd2 back 400
359 cd2 cdface 400


  • CD EP Out of stock
  • MP3 / $5.00 Add to Cart
  • 12"EP Out of stock

Thrill Jockey
Thrill 359 - 2014

SIX is a brand new 29 minute mini-album following Zedek’s 2013 album Via that was praised by Pitchfork, Spin, PopMatters, Paste, American Songwriter, Magnet, and Under the Radar.

Vinyl version includes free download coupon and is limited to only 300 units worldwide! CD version packaged in 4 panel mini-LP style gatefold package.

2013 was a notable year for Thalia Zedek. She released her first album in five years, Via, which PopMatters called a “rumbling, sweet, muscled set of tunes, as resilient as they are beautiful,” which was followed by a tour across North America with Low. She also reunited with Come, the classic band she formed with Chris Brokaw in 1990, reissuing their classic debut Eleven:Eleven and playing their first shows in over a decade across the US and Europe. In October, following this intense flurry of activity, Thalia regrouped with her band in Boston to record an EP, harnessing the creative energy she had accumulated during her time on the road.

The resulting SIX opens with a full-band version of “Fell So Hard,” a characteristically mournful dirge that exudes a tenacious, slow-moving intensity. From there, Zedek explores the complexities of interpersonal relationships, employing some of the most sparse arrangements of her career. The spareness of tracks like “Julie Said” and “Afloat” achieve incredible emotional heft, letting Thalia’s lyrics, delivered in her unmistakable voice, take center stage. Alongside this new material is a cover of Freakwater’s “Flat Hand,” which was originally released on the Plum 7” box set in 2007.

SIX is being released in advance of Thalia’s most extensive European tour in six years, and will be released in limited quantities on CD and 12” vinyl.
" Zedek specializes in thorny songs that unflinchingly address adult topics and full-grown problems, with the malleable backing of her guitar and band providing either momentary refuge or sympathetic cries of exasperation." - Pitchfork

" Hearing a new Thalia Zedek records gives me hope for music." - Dagger

" Those big open guitar cords only add to the song’s emotional thrust. If listening to Via makes you feel good, chances are Zedek is feeling good. Powerful stuff." - Paste

"But Via, like so much of Zedek’s work, fights the inclination to quit when the going gets tough. In less capable hands, a lyric like “the truth will set you free,” from leadoff track “Walk Away,” may sound shallow. Coming from Zedek, it’s a call to arms." - American Songwriter



  • 1 Fell So Hard
  • 2 Julie Said
  • 3 Midst
  • 4 Dreamalie
  • 5 Flathand
  • 6 Afloat

Related Albums