385 600
385 lp front 1600
385 lp back 400
385  lpcover b 400
385  lpback b 400
385 lplabel a 400
385 lplabel b 400
385 lplabel c 400
385 lplabel d 400

Miscontinuum Album (Fiepblatter Catalogue #3)

Thrill Jockey
Thrill 385 - 2015

Miscontinuum Album is the third installment in Jan St. Werner's Fiepblatter Catalogue series and features contributions from Dylan Carlson (Earth), Markus Popp (Oval), Kathy Alberici, and Taigen Kawabe (Bo Ningen)

CD version packaged in a 4 panel mini-LP style gatefold package. Deluxe 2xLP version features expanded artwork with each LP in its own jacket. In addition the vinyl version includes three bonus tracks not on the CD edition. Clear vinyl edition of 500 now available for mailorder customers.

Miscontinuum Album documents an impressive new work by seminal electronic musician Jan St. Werner, whose innovations with Mouse on Mars and Microstoria are well documented. Over a period of approximately four years Miscontinuum has been developed and refined as an operatic live performance in Munich, as well as a radio play. This recorded incarnation of the work is the third entry in Werner’s lauded Fiepblatter series, and features contributions by Dylan Carlson (Earth), Markus Popp (Oval), Kathy Alberici, and Taigen Kawabe (Bo Ningen). It is a challenging listen not compromised for casual music consumption habits, but with time and close listening it yields vast rewards. Miscontinuum Album is a radical convergence of sound exploration and storytelling that has few precedents.

The central concept of Miscontinuum explores misconceptions of time and memory, inspired by unique acoustic phenomena derived digital phasing and musical time stretching techniques. There is an aura of doom that pervades the work. Much of the album’s evocative nature comes from the interplay of Werner’s electronics with Alberici and Kawabe’s voices and the contrast between those organic and inorganic elements. Popp, a longtime collaborator with Werner in Microstoria, wrote the libretti, which is presented in five distinct scenes and recited redolently by Carlson. The surreal plot involves a progressive distinction of time as a force rather than a structuring system, and an individual who can shift consciously between states within that force. The high concepts and unusual creative partners combine for an album that is uncommonly emotionally resonant.

Miscontinuum was first performed as a part of Werner’s Asymmetric Studio series in Munich on June 18th, 2013, and also featured video by Werner and Karl Kliem and stage design by Christina del Yelmo & Sonia Gomez Villar. It was broadcast by Bayerischer Rundfunk public radio ten days later. The striking visual elements, flowing dresses and impressionistic masses of color, make appearances on the album’s art, and will be presented in new forms in the coming months. The first revised version of the Miscontinuum featuring live video by Zoya Bassi will premiere at the St Luke's Church in London on Feb 8th 2015 and is the first in a series of more shows to come in 2015.




  • 1 Intro
  • 2 Cervo
  • 3 Scene 1
  • 4 Repedron
  • 5 Demonos
  • 6 Scene 2
  • 7 Molono
  • 8 Scene 3
  • 9 Schwazade
  • 10 Outro
  • 11 Amazonas

Related Albums